top of page

The Mental Health Zone


If you've read my 'About' page, you'll know that I'm part of a new student-led committee at the Students' Union at Bournemouth University (SUBU) - The Mental Health Zone (MHZ). This is something I applied for before the summer and went through an interview process to be a part of. I wanted to get involved in the zone after facing mental health problems of my own over the past few years. I've suffered with depression and anxiety, and am currently receiving therapy for Post-Traumatic stress disorder. Facing the abusive trauma from my childhood has been very difficult alongside university, but being part of the MHZ, making this documentary and exercising regularly helps me release my anger/frustration and focus on myself more.

What is the MHZ?

The Mental Health Zone is made up of five committee members and a group of project leaders, who run a range of campaigns to raise the awareness of, and reduce the stigma around mental health for students, whilst promoting positive wellbeing and offering peer support. Throughout 2018, we will be running events/campaigns and workshops across both Talbot and Lansdowne campuses which everyone can get involved in!

SUBU's Mental Health Zone from left to right: Lucy Thomas - Events Officer, Josh Stevenson - Communications Officer, Rich Ward - Chair, Joe McMullen - Vice-Chair and Brynony Bratchell - Lansdowne Officer

SUBU's Mental Health Zone from left to right: Lucy Thomas - Events Officer, Josh Stevenson - Communications Officer, Rich Ward - Chair, Joe McMullen - Vice-Chair and Brynony Bratchell - Lansdowne Officer

My role in the zone?

My role as Events Officer is to assist project leaders with their ideas and campaigns, work with charities and organise/run a range of events to help spread the awareness of mental health and the support available to students at BU.

So far we have recruited our project leaders and are working on a range of campaigns. Some of these are; new bus/campus posters around university, a mental health blog where students can share their stories and producing a Mental Health Show with Nerve TV. We also recently held a screening of BBC's Death on Campus with a very engaging discussion afterwards about the problems and pressures students' face throughout university life.

As a final year journalism student, who is committed and passionate about combatting the stigma of mental health, I want to use my journalistic stance to create change for the better! From my own experiences, I can relate to other students' who are stressed, anxious and/or feeling down. Nobody should ever feel ashamed of having a mental health condition or be alone in suffering. Mental health needs more awareness and hopefully through the zone, I can help support and signpost vulnerable students, making them feel safer at university.

bottom of page