top of page

Pitch and feedback


Following my pitch last Friday, 20th October, I am now moving forward with my TV documentary, Exercise Saved My Life. I made two handouts for my lecturers and presented the pitch in my gym clothes to represent the topic of exercise. One of my handouts was all about David's 365 Challenge, and the other I created using statistics from the Samaritans, the World Health Organisation and Mind. I'm quite pleased with how my pitch went and I managed to stick to the three minute limit. My lecturers gave me positive feedback about my idea and suggested finding another person who's participating in The 365 Challenge to interview, showing how inspirational David's story is.

Exercise Saved My Life, is a quote said by my case study David Baum when discussing my documentary idea. It's short, powerful and concise making it a great title for my TV doc. It will be targeted as a short segment on BBC One's, The One Show. In every episode of The One Show, a topical news or personal story is shown to raise the awareness of an issue and/or how someone has overcome a problem. David's story would inform viewers of the current crisis of male suicide rates in the UK as well as showing a way this could be prevented.

My plan now is to speak to David to arrange some dates for filming. I'm hoping to interview him about what has happened to him throughout his life and what it was like to experience suicidal thoughts. I'm also speaking to his wife Melanie to talk about how she felt during this difficult time and how David turned his life around.

bottom of page