top of page

Higher Education Mental Health First Aid Champion


This weekend, I attended a one-day Higher Education Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) course with the Mental Health Zone at Bournemouth University, and have received my certificate of attendance!

On the day I learnt how to manage wellbeing proactively and minimise the impact of mental ill health on work, study and life. The MHFA training course taught me how to spot the symptoms of mental health issues and how to offer initial help and guide a person towards support. One of the most important things to do is to listen, reassure and respond to someone suffering with poor mental health, which could even potentially stop a crisis from happening.

Completing this course has given me a better understanding of identifying signs and symptoms of common mental health issues like depression and anxiety disorders, and how to signpost effectively. I feel confident in how I can apply the skills of the course to my documentary, such as taking the time to listen to David and Mel's story and knowing how to help if things become too overwhelming to talk about. The course has also given me more knowledge to speak out and spread the awareness of mental health, by doing things like this TV documentary.

Click here to see my certificate!

bottom of page